• Earn a $50 Amazon gift card for testing a new product from the makers of PBworks. Click here to apply.

  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

View
 

PBworks Editor

Home
My PBworks
Workspaces
Pages
Creating Pages
Document Import
Editing Pages
Linking Pages
Adding Images
Editor Right Panel
Using Plugins
Describe Your Changes

PBworks Editor

Standard Text Formatting
Indentation
Clipboard Functions
Tables
Text Color
Bullets and Numbering
Alignment of Text
Insert Menu
Add Link
Font Formatting
Spell Check
Horizontal Rule
Remove Formatting
Source Editing Mode
Full Screen Editing
Cropping Images
Page History
Sharing Pages
Deleting Pages
Copy this Page
Page Security
Moving Pages
Printable Version
Navigator
Files
Tags
Comments
Notifications
Users
Workspace Settings
Searching
Upgrading
Administrative Functions
Billing

 

 

Every PBworks page has an edit tab, so users with Writer, Editor, or Administrator privileges can easily edit workspace pages.  The PBworks editor only requires a functional browser, and is as easy to use as most online editors.  Just click "Edit" on any page to edit the page:

 

Note: If you can't see "Edit" on a PBworks page, then you either don't have permission to edit the page or aren't logged in as a user on the workspace.

 

When a page is in edit mode, the content of the page can be manipulated by the keyboard.  In addition to an editor toolbar appearing along the top of the page, "Save" and "Save and Continue" buttons appear at the bottom.  Also, the Page Tools right panel appears at the right hand side, with a useful tool to automatically insert links of pages and files.  You'll also use this panel to upload new files to your workspace (without having to get out of edit mode).

 

 

 

Autosave

 

Autosave is a function of the PBworks editor which helps protect your information in the event of a browser crash.  To see it in action, follow these steps:

 

Go into Edit mode on any page and add some text to the page.  After about sixty seconds, in the bottom right corner of the editor, just before the "Edit tags" link, text appears indicating the page has been saved.

 

 

This means that whatever text was entered in prior to the time shown was saved, but it was not saved permanently.  Changes are only saved permanently when the Save button in the lower left corner is clicked.

 

However, if the browser were to crash or close unexpectedly, when the user went back into edit mode in that page, a bar would appear at the top to let you determine how to proceed.

 

 

By clicking on "Continue editing" the user will be allowed to edit the page, using the data from the autosaved draft.  Clicking the "delete the draft" link will cause the draft to be deleted.  If this bar is not shown to the user, then most likely the browser crash was interpreted as a legitimate "Cancel" so no draft was saved.  Unfortunately, if this bar does not appear when the user logs in, then there is nothing that can be done to retrieve the content.

 

Additionally, autosaved drafts have a very short lifespan, and they do get cleared out periodically.  If your browser does crash during an edit, restart your browser and log back in immediately to see if the draft can be rescued.  As with traditional word processors, the best way to make sure you don't lose data is to save often.